- What happens if you sink the cue ball in pool?
- What are the rules for 9 ball in pool?
- Where does the cue ball go when you scratch?
- How do you break the 8 ball?
- What happens if you don’t call your pocket in pool?
- What is an illegal break in pool?
- What happens if you hit the wrong ball in 9 ball?
- Do you have to hit a cushion in 9 ball?
- What happens if you sink the black ball on the break?
- Do you have to call the 9 ball in 9 ball pool?
- Is there slop in 9 ball?
What happens if you sink the cue ball in pool?
Under standard 8-ball rules, if a player sinks the cue ball during her turn, play is passed over to her opponent, who is allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table for his next shot..
What are the rules for 9 ball in pool?
On each shot the first ball the cue ball contacts must be the lowest-numbered ball on the table, but the balls need not be pocketed in order. If a player pockets any ball on a legal shot, he remains at the table for another shot, and continues until he misses, fouls, or wins the game by pocketing the 9-ball.
Where does the cue ball go when you scratch?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
How do you break the 8 ball?
As shown below, a good power option for the 8-ball break is to position the CB slightly off center, and hit the lead ball squarely. As with the 10-ball break, the 2nd-row balls tend to head toward the side pockets, and the corner balls can go four rails to the corners.
What happens if you don’t call your pocket in pool?
If you pot a ball that you did not call (called “slopping”), official rules say to leave the ball in the pocket. However, many people prefer to return the slopped ball to the footspot. One way or another, your turn is forfeited to the next player.
What is an illegal break in pool?
If the first ball contacted by the cue ball is not the lowest ball on the table, this is a foul. If no balls are pocketed and no balls are driven to the rail, this is a foul. An illegal break, as described above, is a foul. If a player fouls on three consecutive shots in a game he loses.
What happens if you hit the wrong ball in 9 ball?
“Wrong Ball First” and “No Rail” fouls are suspended for the shot. If no foul is committed on a push out, the other player may play the next shot, or may pass the shot to the opponent.
Do you have to hit a cushion in 9 ball?
You are not required to hit any other ball or cushion while playing a push out.
What happens if you sink the black ball on the break?
(c) If the black ball is pocketed on the break, all the balls are re-racked and the same player breaks again. Any violation of 6.1 Cue Ball Scratch or off the Table or 6.5 Ball Driven off the Table is ignored on a break that pockets the black ball.
Do you have to call the 9 ball in 9 ball pool?
Unlike other cue sports, you do not have to call shots when playing 9 ball pool. What makes the game unique is that the cue ball must come into contact with the lowest number on the table. Balls can be pocketed out of order so long as the lowest number ball receives initial contact.
Is there slop in 9 ball?
A slop shot can either be legal or illegal depending on the style of game you are playing. … For example, in slop pool, you might shoot at the nine ball in a nine-ball game, miss your pocket entirely, happily bank into another pocket and score a point or win. Players who make lots of slop shots generally are beginners.