- Do you pull a ball out on a scratch?
- Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball first?
- Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?
- Is Table scratch a real rule?
- What happens if you scratch after hitting the 8 ball in?
- Do you lose if you scratch on the break?
- Is ball in hand a real rule?
- Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
- Do you lose if you scratch on the 9 ball?
- What happens if you miss all balls in pool?
- What is a table scratch in 8 ball?
- What happens if you miss the 8 ball in pool?
- What happens if you scratch on the break in Pool?
- What happens if you scratch in 3 ball?
- Is it a scratch if you miss all the balls?
Do you pull a ball out on a scratch?
The Billiard Congress of America defines a scratch — a shot on which the cue ball is pocketed — as a foul.
Even if you successfully pocket an object ball, you scratch if the cue ball drops into any pocket and you lose your turn..
Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball first?
The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.
Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?
A scratch, foul, or illegal shot results in ball-in-hand, where your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table in preparation for the next shot. The only exception to this is the break (see the 8-ball and 9-ball differences that follow).
Is Table scratch a real rule?
A table scratch happens when you hit the cue ball or object balls in a way that isn’t legal, but don’t actually pocket the cue ball. This is sometimes called a “foul”. These are the rules for a legal shot: The cue can strike the cue ball only once.
What happens if you scratch after hitting the 8 ball in?
When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball. 20.
Do you lose if you scratch on the break?
If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game.
Is ball in hand a real rule?
During cue ball in hand placement, the player may use his hand or any part of his cue (including the tip) to position the cue ball. When placing the cue ball in position, any forward stroke motion of the cue stick contacting the cue ball will be considered a foul if not a legal shot.
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.
Do you lose if you scratch on the 9 ball?
2. If the cue ball is pocketed or driven off the table, or the requirements of the opening break are not met, it is a foul, and the incoming player has cue ball in hand anywhere on the table. … However, if the cue ball is scratched when making the nine ball, the nine ball is respotted.
What happens if you miss all balls in pool?
Any balls moved accidentally during a shot will be replaced by the opponent after the shot is over and all balls have stopped rolling. If it occurs before the shot, it will be replaced before the shot is taken.
What is a table scratch in 8 ball?
When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. … If any object ball is jumped off the table, it is a foul and loss of turn, unless it is the 8-ball, which is a loss of game.
What happens if you miss the 8 ball in pool?
When playing the 8-ball, you scratch. Note: If you are shooting at the 8-ball and miss it altogether without scratching, you have fouled and your opponent has ball-in-hand, but you don’t lose because of this foul. f. A game is forfeited if you alter the course of the 8-ball or the cue ball in a game losing situation.
What happens if you scratch on the break in Pool?
SCRATCH ON A LEGAL BREAK. If a player scratches on a legal break shot, (1) all balls pocketed remain pocketed (exception, the 8-ball: see rule 9), (2) it is a foul, (3) the table is open.
What happens if you scratch in 3 ball?
An uncommonly required but “serious consequences” variant is that if one sinks all three object balls on the break but also scratches or otherwise fouls, this is an instant loss instead of a score of two, taking the form of the player receiving the maximum allowed score (see above), which is technically still tieable, …
Is it a scratch if you miss all the balls?
means that you either hit the cue ball into a pocket, your opponent’s ball into a pocket, or you didn’t hit any balls at all. When you scratch, you automatically lose your turn. I have found three ways to “scratch”: 1)The cue ball strikes the 8-ball first (unless it is the only legal shot).